Jack Chick – Super Evangelist

Recently I’ve become morbidly fascinated with the work of Jack Chick, an evangelical christian who writes bible tracts designed to convert non-believers. To people that aren’t acquainted with these little gems, here are three charming example of his work, straight from his archives;

Only Psychopaths are allowed to teach Evolution in schools.

Man, that teacher is ANGRY!

Man, that teacher is ANGRY!

Rock Music is the devils work.

Jack Chick really knows how to get down with da' kidz.

Jack Chick really knows how to get down with da' kidz.

A brief conversation will convert a Muslim.

Yeah, like that'd ever happen.

Yeah, like that'd ever happen.

I can assure you that I picked 3 tracts at random, I’ve not been cherry-picking to make Chick look daft. If I had, I almost certainly would have linked to this, a cautionary tale warning youngsters of the danger inherent in Dungeons & Dragons.

There are a few things that strike me about that D & D tract.

  1. Does Jack Chick really believe that anyone can obtain magic powers?
  2. … is he seriously suggesting that the way to obtain these powers is by playing Dungeons & Dragons?
  3. Why would a witches coven gain new recruits through a Board Game? Does this mean he thinks the Police recruit detectives using Cluedo?
  4. Finally, if the answer to all the above is yes, why tell kids that D & D gives them magic powers! I’m sure that most kids would opt for the magic powers over Jesus any day.

Although this is probably the worst of all the tracts, if you keep digging through his archives there is some solid gold to be found.

Well, I suppose I’m just a fool, and have said in my heart “There is no God”. Ah well.

-Gavin Schofield

1 Comment

Filed under Comic, Review

One response to “Jack Chick – Super Evangelist

  1. angrysceptic

    I want to teach evolution and I often find myself getting angry with kids who believe it’s a lie. So I don’t think that first one is a lie.

Leave a Reply

